You are here: Home / Your Lieutenancy / Lieutenancy Area

North Yorkshire Lieutenancy Area

The North Yorkshire Lieutenancy area includes the county of North Yorkshire, the City of York and the area south of the River Tees incorporating Redcar & Cleveland, Middlesbrough and part of Stockton-on-Tees.

It is the largest Lieutenancy area in England by some margin and, although dominated by vast rural expanses, it also includes many areas of thriving commerce and an abundance of heritage. All of us who are lucky enough to live here know exactly how fortunate we are.

Some facts about the North Yorkshire Lieutenancy area:

  • The North Yorkshire Lieutenancy covers over 3,400² miles (9,000² kilometres)
  • The population is approximately 1,150,000
  • Includes around 55 miles of coast, of which 34 miles is designated as Heritage Coast
  • Incorporates two National Parks – The Yorkshire Dales and The North York Moors Parks
  • Three Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty – The Howardian Hills, Nidderdale and part of the Forest of Bowland
  • One World Heritage Site – Fountain’s Abbey
  • Five Registered Battlefields - Myton, Towton, Boroughbridge, Northallerton & Marston Moor
  • Twenty three local nature reserves
  • Nine national nature reserves